Meet Our Team

Brent Frankenhoff, Executive Director and Editor/Ad Manager, Jensen Community Spirit

Brent started with the Jensen Community Center in 2016 as an office assistant and ad representative. In 2018, he was promoted to Executive Director and, in 2020, added the editorship of the Spirit to his duties. Originally from southwestern Wisconsin, he moved to the area in 1992 to work for Krause Publications in Iola.

Mariah Singer-Brown, Associate Director

Mariah joined our team in 2017 and is in charge of events, promotions, and rentals at the Jensen Community Center. She is also in charge of our volunteers and manages the social media of the organization. Mariah loves Amherst and enjoys bringing new and fun ideas to the community.

Shawn Lea, Finance Manager

Shawn makes sure the books balance, everyone has what they need, and the website is up-to-date.  She joined this team in 2022 and also serves as Town Clerk for the Town of Amherst.  She has lived in our area over 25 years, has three children in the area and loves being a Grandmother.  

Jim Groshek, Maintenance Manager

Jim joined the Jensen Center in summer 2022.   In addition to keeping the Center neat and tidy, he handles all maintenance and repairs, helps set up before and clean up after our many events and activities, and prepares the Jensen Community Spirit for mailing each month.

Lee O’Keefe, Events Assistant 

Lee joined the Jensen Center in February 2024. A recent non-profit management graduate, Lee is excited to contribute to her community with all the exciting events the Jensen Center has to offer!  



The Amherst Area Foundation Board of Directors

  • Sandra Lynne Schmutzler, Ed.D., President
  • Paul Graham, Vice President
  • Holly Hurda, Secretary
  • Paul Olson, Treasurer
  • Tom Pease
  • David Wright
  • Mary Peplinski
  • Jerry Riederer
  • Jason Blenker
  • Dennis Cook
  • Morgan Glodowski
  • Wayne Orthwein
  • Cathy Matson
  • Tanya Victor